Indian Stock Market

There are 2 primary stock exchanges in India:

  1. The Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE), and
  2. The National Stock Exchange of India Ltd (NSE)
Additionally, there are 22 Regional Stock Exchanges in India. The Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) and the National Stock Exchange (NSE) are the 2 established and leading Indian stock exchanges and both these exchanges together account for over 80% of the equity volume traded in India. Both NSE and BSE are equal in size in terms of daily traded volume.

Indian Stock Market

Indian Stock Market Facts:

  • The NSE has about 1500 listed stocks. The BSE has over 6000 listed stocks.
  • Most major stocks in India are traded on both the stock exchanges which means that an investor can buy or sell shares on either exchange.
  • The primary index of BSE is BSE Sensex comprising 30 stocks.
  • NSE has the S&P NSE 50 Index (Nifty) which consists of fifty stocks.
Both the indices are calculated on the basis of market capitalization and consist if heavily traded shares from all major sectors. The markets remain open from Monday through Friday and remain closed on Saturdays and Sundays and on National Holidays. Both the exchanges are fully automated and computerized.

Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) Ltd. is the key regulator governing Stock Exchanges, Brokers, Depositories, Depository participants, Mutual Funds, FIIs and other participants in Indian secondary and primary market.

Resources & References: